What a Haircut Can Mean. . .

This Tuesday, I will be getting a haircut. For me, haircuts are serious business. I don’t usually get my hair cut more than once a year. With my curly hair, it doesn’t seem to make much of a difference. My locks are pretty much frozen into a particular form no matter what. Still, it’s time, and I am determined this haircut will be entirely different from those that have come before. Right now, my hair is halfway down my back. I want to get it short. Of course, I’ve spoken conservatively to others (“Perhaps, shoulder length. . .”), but I’m really thinking of something a bit more dramatic. I had very short hair when I was a freshman in high school, and I just might want to try going back to it. I always feel much more like myself when I have short hair, and since it’s been a very long time since I’ve felt truly like myself, I think it’s time to give it another try.

Right now, I’m considering something like the following. . .

6a011570b57d1c970b0120a94f880b970b-800wi

OR

571d3056fccbb91a0c770d095cd08ef4

They’re actually pretty much the same, only one’s more hipster and the other’s more whimsical.  Basically, I really want to try bangs with short hair.  In the past, I’ve been warned against bangs, but seeing as I’ve always wanted them, it’s about time I take the plunge.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately that I need to stop putting off things I’ve wanted to try–even if things that are as seemingly miniscule as bangs.  (It’s not as if they won’t grow out if they look awful.)  No time like the present to try new hairstyles, new hobbies, and new things.

(Images from X, X)

One thought on “What a Haircut Can Mean. . .

  1. I had hair 1/4 in long before and mine is 2c 3a curls (don’t know if you know about the naturally curly site or the curly girl method). It is almost chin length now. Go for it! I think you will enjoy short hair a lot..although the more frequent visits to the stylist is a pain in the wallet. You will probably have to go more often (I know I have) if you grow it out from being short or else you might find yourself getting the ‘mullet’ look. Let me know what you decide on:)

Leave a Reply

